Organization profile

Organization profile

The presence of the UPS in the city of Quito began in 1994 with the creation of the Faculty of Human and Social Sciences with three undergraduate programs: Psychopedagogy, Applied Anthropology and Pastoral Theology. However, it was in 1995 when the Quito Campus was created and made official. The campus was born with the following faculties: Educational Sciences, Human and Social Sciences, Religious Sciences, Development Sciences and Technical Sciences. These faculties are oriented to meet the training demands of the population of Quito, but also of other parts of the country: Cayambe, Zumbahua, Ambato, Riobamba, Santo Domingo, Esmeraldas, Puyo, Macas, among others, through blended and distance learning programs.

UN Sustainable Development Goals

In 2015, UN member states agreed to 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure prosperity for all. Our work contributes towards the following SDG(s):

  • SDG 3 - Good Health and Well-being
  • SDG 6 - Clean Water and Sanitation
  • SDG 7 - Affordable and Clean Energy
  • SDG 8 - Decent Work and Economic Growth
  • SDG 9 - Industry, Innovation, and Infrastructure
  • SDG 11 - Sustainable Cities and Communities
  • SDG 12 - Responsible Consumption and Production
  • SDG 13 - Climate Action
  • SDG 15 - Life on Land
  • SDG 16 - Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions


Dive into the research topics where Sede Quito is active. These topic labels come from the works of this organization's members. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Collaborations and top research areas from the last five years

Recent external collaboration on country/territory level. Dive into details by clicking on the dots or